Week 14 – Brokeback Mountain

I thought that Dwight A. McBride’s article “Why I Hate That I Loved Brokeback Mountain” brought up some important points about the movie. The last time I had seen it was when I was very young (around the time it came out) and had not really critically thought about the movie or what it represents. What I like about the article is how it points out that the movie is able to be commercially successful because of the way it still stuck to Hollywood formulas that had been fed to audiences for a long time (“star-crossed lovers”, and also the appearance and behavior of the two characters in the film. Heath Ledger and Jake Gyllenhaal are both “ruggedly handsome, white, masculine, straight-acting”. This I think relates to last week and the whiteness of the New Queer Cinema. Here we still see whiteness being represented, and I agree with McBride that this, along with their masculinity,  is what helped the film be appealing to a large audience in America.

Leave a Reply

